Bellingcat Digital Showcase Series

Bellingcat is hosting a series of free digital showcase events this spring, in which investigative journalists and researchers highlight their recent work and the open source methodologies they use. Most of these events are in Russian, though some are in other languages, such as English and Ukrainian.

All of these events are free, and do not require pre-registration. They will be recorded and uploaded to our YouTube channel shortly after their conclusion.

A list of previous and upcoming events, along with links to either the upcoming Zoom webinar room or a recording of the session, are listed below.

Upcoming

 

[Ukrainian] Anna Kalyuzhna (Bihus) – Investigating financial corruption in Ukraine

May 7 (Friday), 3pm Kyiv / 1pm London / 8am NYC

Zoom Webinar (Passcode: 409121)

Description (Ukrainian): Журналістка українського проекту розслідувань Bihus.Info Анна Калюжна розкаже про інструменти цифрових досліджень і відкриті бази даних, які вона та команда використовують для створення їхніх матеріалів. Детально вона розповість, як знаходити дані про компанії і зв’язки цих компаній з людьми із владних кабінетів. Вона розповість, як за допомогою всього трьох платформ з публічною інформацією про українські компанії довела, що через власний бізнес-інтерес чиновники відповідального органу “Укренерго” дозволили розбудувати мережу “зеленої енергетики” в Україні не правильно, і навіть поставили під загрозу всю енергосистему України, зокрема і українські АЕС.

 

[Russian] Andrei Soshnikov (Current Time TV) – Darknet and Telegram as sources and instruments for journalistic investigations [Даркнет и Telegram как средства и источники журналистских расследований]

May 8 (Saturday), 4pm Moscow / 2pm London / 9am NYC

Zoom Webinar (Passcode: 229909)

 

Upcoming (Further information to come soon)

 

[Russian] Kyrylo Yekymov (Belarus Accountability Map) – Creating the Belarus Accountability Map

May 12 (Wednesday), time TBA

Zoom Webinar link TBA

 

[Russian] Carl Schreck (RFE/RL) – The Uzbek President’s Secret Mountain Hideaway 

May 21 (Friday), 11am Moscow / 9am London/ 4am NYC

Zoom Webinar link TBA

 

[Kyrgyz or Russian] Rinat Tuhvatshin (Viximity) – Topic TBD

Date/Time TBA

Zoom Webinar link TBA

 

Completed

 

[Russian] Ruslan Leviev (Conflict Intelligence Team) – Tracking Russian military equipment on the Ukrainian border

Ruslan Leviev of the Conflict Intelligence Team (CIT), will detail how he and his team are using digital investigative techniques to follow Russian military equipment movements around the country. Much of this equipment has been moved to the Voronezh Oblast, which borders Ukraine’s Luhansk Oblast.

 

[English] Zarine Kharazian (Digital Forensics Research Lab) – Disinformation in an Armenian Context

Zarine Kharazian of the Digital Forensics Research Lab (DFRLab) will detail how she and her team are using digital investigative techniques to track disinformation in Armenia, especially with the flow of information between social platforms popular in Armenia, such as from Telegram to Facebook to mainstream media. 

Completed / From Bellingcat Investigators

 

[English] Nick Waters – Investigating a Saudi-Led Coalition Bombing of a Yemen Hospital

Live walkthrough (recorded on Zoom) of an investigation of the bombing of the Hodeidah Hospital in Yemen, carried out by the Saudi-led Coalition in 2018. You can read the investigation here

 

[English] Aric Toler – Using Facial Recognition in Investigations

Live walkthrough (recorded on Zoom) on how to use facial recognition software — specifically, FindClone and Yandex — to aid digital investigations.

 

[English] Giancarlo Fiorella – Geolocating (Allegedly) Corrupt Venezuelan Officials in Europe

Live walkthrough (recorded on Zoom) on how to geolocate individuals (allegedly) involved in corruption — specifically, Venezuelan legislators in Europe.